1: ARTICLE IN A DATABASE (the skill is using the database citation function)
Find the article called "Simple rules can guide whether land or ocean-based conservation will best benefit marine ecosystems" in the Advanced Placement from our ASW Library Database list. This is an excellent database for science. It has a cool feature called EXPORT. Click on this and see how it works. Export the citation. Check it.
Does it follow this pattern?
Author, A.(Year). Article title with no capitals. Journal Title in Italics with Capitals, volume in italics (issue), page numbers. Retrieved month date, year, from URL [or doi: xxxxxxx]
NOTE: Make these corrections.
1. Fix all the caps in the title and add the retrieval date.
2. Add date of access by clicking today. Notice that this works for a URL but not a DOI. If it is a DOI, it's okay not to have this date.
2: ARTICLE IN AN ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIA
Go to the Ecosystem article in Britannica Advanced, Find the citation under the checkmark on the top bar. Copy it. Click on 59 options then Write/Paste Citation in EasyBib. Paste in your citation.
NOTE: Make these corrections
1. EasyBib drops the italics on the book title. Fix this before you create the citation.
2. You will also need to manually add the retrieval date. Use this pattern: November 14, 2017
Pattern:
Article title. (date if available). In Title of Encyclopedia in italics. Retrieved date, from URL
3: ONLINE ARTICLE
Cite the online article "Why Do Ecosystems Matter?"
NOTE:
1. Notice what happens to the date. This is okay.
2. This has a corporate author. Add it to the last name box.
4: YOUTUBE
Find the TED talk called "How to Green the World's Deserts and Reverse Climate Change." Cite this YouTube using the EasyBib VIDEO tab. Here are the guidelines from APA.
Pattern:
Group or person primarily responsible for material. (year, month day). Title of video [Video file]. Retrieved date, from http://xxxxxxxxx
Author, A. A. [Screen name if that person produced it]. (year, month day). Title of video [Video file]. Retrieved date from http://xxxxxxxxx
NOTE:
If only the screen name of the person or group who posted the video is known, use this name. Make sure it goes in the last name box.
5: PDF of a journal article
Cite the PDF of a scholarly article (see below). There are a several ways to do this. Some of them make errors. Some don't. YOUR job is to check it.
PDFs are sometimes challenging because you think you think is is from the internet but really it is from a journal. Make sure you click on the EasyBib journal tab. Try copying the title of the article and putting it into the search box.
Patterns (Both are correct. Follow one)
With a DOI:
Author(s). (Year). Article title. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), Pages. DOI
With a URL:
Author(s). (Year). Article title. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), Pages. Retrieved date, from URL
YOU OFTEN NEED TO MANUALLY FIX SMALL ERRORS
Advanced Placement Database:
Database provides the citation but you often need to fix (remove) the capitalization
INCORRECT:
Kirkpatrick, K. (2015). The Moral Challenges of Driverless Cars. Communications Of The ACM, 58(8), 19. doi:10.1145/2788477
CORRECT
Kirkpatrick, K. (2015). The moral challenges of driverless cars. Communications of the ACM, 58(8), 19. doi:10.1145/2788477
YouTube or Photograph:
Often distorts the name of the person who uploaded or created the work.
INCORRECT:
News, S. J. (2015, May 13). Survey: Baby boomers hesitant to get behind wheel of self-driving cars. Retrieved September 22, 2017, from http://www.gettyimages.com/detail/news-photo/the-two-seater-prototype-of-googles-self-driving-car-is-news-photo/503749162#the-twoseater-prototype-of-googles-selfdriving-car-is-ready-for-at-picture-id503749162
CORRECT:
San Jose News. (2015, May 13). Survey: Baby boomers hesitant to get behind wheel of self-driving cars. [Photograph]. Retrieved September 22, 2017, from http://www.gettyimages.com/
NOTE: If you have a really long URL especially for an image, you only need to give the homepage URL (which is much shorter).
Create a References list
1. In EasyBib EDU, create a new project. Call it APA Practice. Choose APA as the default style.
2 Cite the 6 resources in the Practice #1 box using EasyBib. They all provide different kinds of challenges so read the directions and play around with the EasyBib tool to see how you can fix any problems.
3. Export your References list and submit to your teacher.