Scholarly journals for academic research in all subjects.
"Covering a wide array of subject areas from the arts and multicultural studies to the STEM subjects, Advanced Placement Source offers students the essential research materials to achieve academic success in honors, AP or IB programs."
The New York Times, morning daily newspaper published in New York City, long the newspaper of record in the United States. Its strength is in its editorial excellence.
A nonprofit news-release distribution platform operated by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) as a resource for journalists and the public.
ArtstorThis link opens in a new windowDigital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information, encompassing many time periods and world cultures. Includes objects relevant to fields such as architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, history, ethnographic, and women’s studies; and addresses many other forms of visual culture.
Digital Theatre PlusThis link opens in a new windowTheatre, opera, music, and dance from internationally renown productions for High School.
Literature Resource CenterThis link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
"Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world."
International viewpoints on global issues and events
Ancient and Medieval History OnlineThis link opens in a new windowPresents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s.
"Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, ancient and medieval Asia, the Americas, medieval Europe, and the Islamic World."
Modern World History OnlineThis link opens in a new windowCovers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps, including biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines.
"Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history."
Opposing Viewpoints In ContextThis link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources. Good for debating and persuasive writing.
Points of View Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowContains many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Useful for debating.
Databases for Science, Health and Psychology
Science in ContextThis link opens in a new windowReferences content from scientific encyclopedias integrated with current news, images and videos to highlight real-world issues Includes encyclopedia articles and full-text articles from newspapers.
Health Source: Consumer EditionThis link opens in a new windowCovers information on many health topics including medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Contains full text for over 190 journals as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health publications.
GreenFileThis link opens in a new windowA specialized database indexing more than 600 titles, including scholarly and general interest titles along with government documents and reports. It focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, drawing from such disciplines as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
Engage with National Geographic Explorers and transform learning experiences through live events, free maps, videos, interactives, and other resources.
