1. ARTICLE IN AN ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIA (Skill: using 59 options to copy/paste citations and correcting EasyBib errors)
Go to Go to Britannica Advanced in the database list. Find and open the ENZYME article. Find the citation under the checkmark on the top bar. Copy it. Click on 59 options then Write/Paste Citation in EasyBib. Paste in your citation.
NOTE: EasyBib creates errors that you need to correct.
1. EasyBib drops the italics on the book title. Fix this.
2. You will also need to manually add the retrieval date. Use this pattern: January 16, 2018
Pattern:
Article title. (date if available). In Title of Encyclopedia in italics. Retrieved month date, year, from URL
2. DIAGRAM from a DATABASE (Skill: using the database citation and export functions and using this database)
1. Go to Science in Context in the database list. Use ENZYMES as a search term.
2. Open the feature article at the top. Find the diagram called "Lock-and-key model of substrate enzyme interaction." Click on it.
3. Scroll down just to see how good this article is for you to use later for background information.
3. Click on the CITATION TOOLS and change the citation format to APA.
4. Use the EXPORT feature to send it to EasyBib. Notice the magic!
3. ARTICLE FROM A DATABASE (Skill: searching this database, citation export functions, fixing EasyBib errors)
1. Open the Advanced Placement database from our ASW Library Database list.
2. Find the article called From Feather Waste to Valuable Nanoparticles. Open the article to access all the tools.
3. Export the citation to EasyBib
5. This is a good example of how EasyBib creates errors. Notice that the article title is all in capitals. Fix it to be lower case.
6. Notice that this one has a DOI, so you don't need a retrieval date.
Does it follow this pattern?
Author, A., & Author, B. (Year of publication). Article title. Journal Title in italics, volume in italics(issue), pp-pp. doi: xxxxxxxx
NOTE:
APA does not include the name of the database.
Journal titles are capitalized because they are proper names
If you use a DOI, you don't need a retrieval date.
4: ONLINE VIDEO (Skill: figuring out how to make EasyBib as a tool work for YouTube)
1. Find the Introduction to Enzymes from Khan Academy. Use this the version posted on Youtube.
2. You are going to have to fill in the EasyBib fields manually. You can either use the Video Tab or the Website Tab. Both are challenging for different reasons because EasyBib as a tool won't allow you to change what you need to change. Your job is to figure out how to fix it.
3. Read the rules below so you can figure it out.
Note:
Does it follow this pattern?
Author, A. [Screen name]. (year, month day). Title of video in italics [Video file]. Retrieved date, from URL
Screen name. (year, month day). Title of video in italics [Video file]. Retrieved date, from URL
Apsolon, M. [markapsolon]. 2011, September 9). Real ghost girl caught on video tape 14 [Video File]. Retrieved January 15, 2018, from http://ww.youtube.com/watch?=6nyGCbxD848
Bellofolletti. (2009, April 8). Ghost caught on surveillance camera [Video file]. Retrieved January 15, 2018, from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dq1ms2JhYBI&feature=related
5. ONLINE PDF ARTICLE FROM A WEBSITE (Article recommended by Dr. K. as good for your project)
1. Find the article called "Substrate-inducible Microsomal Aryl Hydroxylase in Mammalian Cell Culture I. ASSAY AND PROPERTIES OF INDUCED ENZYME" on Journal of Biological Chemistry. (Yes, you will have to fix the capitalization on this)
2. Notice that you just get the abstract but if you look under the Table of Contents it says PDF (free). Open the PDF.
3. PDFs are sometimes challenging because you think it is like an online article but really it is from a print journal that someone has posted online. Click on the EasyBib JOURNAL tab. You will need to enter the information into the EasyBib boxes manually. Make sure you use lower case for the title.
Does it follow one of these patterns?
Author, A., & Author, B. (Year of publication). Article title. Journal Title in italics, volume in italics(issue), pp.-pp. Retrieved Month date, year, from URL
Author, A., & Author, B. (Year of publication). Article title. Journal Title in italics, volume in italics(issue), pp.-pp. doi: xxxxxxxxx
Author, A., & Author, B. (Year of publication). Article title. Journal Title in italics, volume in italics(issue), pp.-pp.