LibGuides: ASW Library: Databases

Elementary Encyclopedias

Britannica Foundation This link opens in a new window

Elementary

BrainPOP This link opens in a new window Gr 3-8. Animated movies, learning games, interactive quizzes, primary source activities, concept mapping, and more.
Always need password
BrainPOP, Jr. This link opens in a new window K-3 Animated movies, learning games, interactive quizzes, primary source activities, concept mapping, and more for science, health, technology, math, social studies, arts and music.
Always need password
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window Provides concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations. Local experts document the unique, intimate details of each country's customs, traditions and daily life.
ImageQuest This link opens in a new window Copyright-cleared images for educational use. Citation provided but must be corrected.
Learn 360 Classroom Videos This link opens in a new window Videos for all subject and age levels. Use filters to sort. Each video has many 2 minute segments.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more.
"NoveList Plus has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. NoveList's expertise in books and reading means that you'll always get the best help for finding just the right books." Includes information such as theme, style, character information.
PebbleGo This link opens in a new window Science and social studies for PK-G3.
PowerKnowledge Earth & Space This link opens in a new window Gr. 3-6. Online interactive science.
PowerKnowledge Life Science This link opens in a new window Gr. 3-6. Online interactive science.
PowerKnowledge Physical Science This link opens in a new window Gr. 3-6. Online interactive science.
Starfall This link opens in a new window Language arts & math activities. PK-G3
Tumblebooks This link opens in a new window K-G5 Collection of animated picture books, read-along chapter books, non-fiction books, graphic novels, educational videos, and audio books.
WebPath Express This link opens in a new window For PreK - Grade 12. Safe, credible search tool integrated into library catalog. You can filter by grade level.

Streaming Video

Learn 360 Classroom Videos This link opens in a new window Videos for all subject and age levels. Use filters to sort. Each video has many 2 minute segments.
Twig Videos This link opens in a new window Science videos for Middle and High School.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Theatre, opera, music, and dance from internationally renown productions for High School.

Copyright Cleared Images

ImageQuest This link opens in a new window Copyright-cleared images for educational use. Citation provided but must be corrected.

Middle School Encyclopedias

Britannica Intermediate This link opens in a new window

Middle School

Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s.
"Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, ancient and medieval Asia, the Americas, medieval Europe, and the Islamic World."
Artstor This link opens in a new window Digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information, encompassing many time periods and world cultures. Includes objects relevant to fields such as architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, history, ethnographic, and women’s studies; and addresses many other forms of visual culture.
BrainPOP This link opens in a new window Gr 3-8. Animated movies, learning games, interactive quizzes, primary source activities, concept mapping, and more.
Always need password
Classroom Video This link opens in a new window Core curriculum videos for High School
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window Provides concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations. Local experts document the unique, intimate details of each country's customs, traditions and daily life.
EBSCO Explora This link opens in a new window A general information database that allows you to search by topic or by keyword.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window International viewpoints on global issues and events
ImageQuest This link opens in a new window Copyright-cleared images for educational use. Citation provided but must be corrected.
Learn 360 Classroom Videos This link opens in a new window Videos for all subject and age levels. Use filters to sort. Each video has many 2 minute segments.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
"Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world."
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps, including biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines.
"Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history."
NoodleTools This link opens in a new window Citation & research organization tool
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more.
"NoveList Plus has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. NoveList's expertise in books and reading means that you'll always get the best help for finding just the right books." Includes information such as theme, style, character information.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources. Good for debating and persuasive writing.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Contains many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Useful for debating.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window References content from scientific encyclopedias integrated with current news, images and videos to highlight real-world issues Includes encyclopedia articles and full-text articles from newspapers.
Teen Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window Good for research on physical and mental health. Ask a question feature
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window Covers current events including social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and controversial opinions and viewpoints. Contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Twig Videos This link opens in a new window Science videos for Middle and High School.
WebPath Express This link opens in a new window For PreK - Grade 12. Safe, credible search tool integrated into library catalog. You can filter by grade level.

Teacher Professional Resources

ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
"ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds."

High School Encyclopedias

Britannica Advanced This link opens in a new window

High School

Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals for academic research in all subjects.
"Covering a wide array of subject areas from the arts and multicultural studies to the STEM subjects, Advanced Placement Source offers students the essential research materials to achieve academic success in honors, AP or IB programs."
Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window Maps, primary source documents, etc.
"Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, ancient and medieval Asia, the Americas, medieval Europe, and the Islamic World."
Artstor This link opens in a new window Digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information, encompassing many time periods and world cultures. Includes objects relevant to fields such as architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, history, ethnographic, and women’s studies; and addresses many other forms of visual culture.
Classroom Video This link opens in a new window Core curriculum videos for High School
Credo Source This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window Provides concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations. Local experts document the unique, intimate details of each country's customs, traditions and daily life.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Theatre, opera, music, and dance from internationally renown productions for High School.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window International viewpoints on global issues and events
GreenFile This link opens in a new window A specialized database indexing more than 600 titles, including scholarly and general interest titles along with government documents and reports. It focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, drawing from such disciplines as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Covers information on many health topics including medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Contains full text for over 190 journals as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Learn 360 Classroom Videos This link opens in a new window Videos for all subject and age levels. Use filters to sort. Each video has many 2 minute segments.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
"Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world."
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps, including biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines.
"Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history."
New York Times This link opens in a new window The New York Times, morning daily newspaper published in New York City, long the newspaper of record in the United States. Its strength is in its editorial excellence.
NoodleTools This link opens in a new window Citation & research organization tool
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more.
"NoveList Plus has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. NoveList's expertise in books and reading means that you'll always get the best help for finding just the right books." Includes information such as theme, style, character information.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources. Good for debating and persuasive writing.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Contains many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Useful for debating.
Psychology and Mental Health This link opens in a new window Good psychology encyclopedia
Science in Context This link opens in a new window References content from scientific encyclopedias integrated with current news, images and videos to highlight real-world issues Includes encyclopedia articles and full-text articles from newspapers.
Teen Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window Good for research on physical and mental health. Ask a question feature
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window Covers current events including social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and controversial opinions and viewpoints. Contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Twig Videos This link opens in a new window Science videos for Middle and High School.
WebPath Express This link opens in a new window For PreK - Grade 12. Safe, credible search tool integrated into library catalog. You can filter by grade level.